— Welcome to the York Rite of Maryland —


The Royal Arch

The Royal Arch provides “the rest of the story,” as our late Brother Paul Harvey would say. Here, through the four degrees of Mark Master, Past Master, Most Excellent Master, and Royal Arch Mason, a Master Mason completes his search for that which was lost.

Cryptic Masonry

The three degrees of Cryptic Masonry provide additional light to the Royal Arch Mason. In the Royal Master and Select Master, events surrounding the building of King Solomon’s Temple are more deeply presented. The Super-Excellent Master teaches of the destruction of the Temple.


The Knight Templar draw the lessons of their Orders from the New Testament and are a Christian Order in Freemasonry. While there is no historic link to the Templars of old, today’s Templars revere the lessons taught and chivalric honor maintained.

For printed information:  Maryland York Rite Brochure
For a fillable application for membership:
Maryland York Rite Petition