Council of Anointed High Priest


A chair degree conferred upon elected High Priests. In Maryland, the degree must be conferred before a Companion can be installed as High Priest. This restriction may not apply in other jurisdictions. In Maryland, the degree is conferred by the Council of Anointed High Priests. This Council is the oldest one in the United States, having been founded on May 27, 1824. Elsewhere the degree may be conferred by the Grand Chapter or another body established for the purpose. These other bodies go by various names.
In antiquity, this degree was known as the Order of Melchizadek.